Board of Directors

John McDonough

CBE, BSc (Eng) & ACGI

Chairman, British, aged 65 appointed to the Board on 15 March 2012; Chairman of the Nominations Committee; John ceased being a member of the Audit and Remuneration Committees on becoming Chairman on 1 June 2012. He is also Chairman of Vesuvius plc, a Director of Cornerstone Property Assets Ltd and Sunbird Business Services Ltd and a Trustee of Team Rubicon UK. John was most recently Group Chief Executive of Carillion plc from January 2001 to December 2011. He was previously a Non-Executive director of Tomkins plc from June 2007 to September 2010, where he was also Chairman of the Remuneration Committee, and Excel plc from February 2004 to December 2005. Prior to Carillion, John worked for Johnson Controls and Massey Ferguson. He was awarded a CBE in 2011 for services to Industry.

Stephen Bird


Group Chief Executive, British, aged 56, appointed to the Board on 14 April 2009. He is currently a Non-Executive Director and the Senior Independent Director of Dialight plc. He was formerly a Non-Executive Director of Umeco plc. Previously he was Divisional Managing Director of Weir Oil & Gas, part of Weir Group plc. Prior to this he worked in senior roles at Danaher Corporation, Black & Decker, Unipart Group, Hepworth PLC and Technicolor Group.

Paul Hayes

MEng & Man, ACA

Group Finance Director, British, aged 50, appointed to the Board on 13 June 2011. Previously he was Group Financial Controller at Signet Jewelers Limited (formerly Signet Group plc) between 2007 and 2011. Prior to that, he held a senior role at RHM plc from 2004 to 2007, through its flotation in 2005 and subsequent sale to Premier Foods plc. Paul was with Smiths Group plc for over ten years from 1993, including a number of divisional and operating company finance director roles. He is a Chartered Accountant having qualified with EY, and has a first class Masters degree in Mechanical Engineering, Manufacture & Management. Paul has resigned and will be leaving the Board in April 2017.

Caroline Thomson 

BA and D.Univ

Non-executive, independent, British, aged 62, appointed to the Board on 1 November 2015; Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nominations Committees. She is currently Chair of Digital UK, a Non-Executive Director of CN media group, Deputy Chair of NHS Improvement, a Director of London First, a Non-Executive Director of UKGI and Chair of its Remuneration Committee, and a trustee of Tullie House Gallery in Cumbria. She recently retired as Executive Director of English National Ballet. Until September 2012 Caroline was Chief Operating Officer at the BBC, serving 12 years as a member of the Executive Board. Caroline received an honorary doctorate from York University in 2013 and was made an honorary Fellow of the University of Cumbria in 2015. She is a member of the Council of the University of York, a Fellow of the Royal Television Society and a trustee of The Conversation.

Christopher Humphrey


Non-Executive, independent, British, aged 59, appointed to the Board on 1 December 2013; Chairman of the Audit Committee and member of the Nominations and Remuneration Committees. He is also a Non-Executive Director of SDL PLC and AVEVA Group plc. He was formerly Group Chief Executive Officer of Anite plc, holding that position from 2008 until August 2015. Previously he was their Group Finance Director between 2003 and 2008. He has held senior positions in finance at Conoco, Eurotherm International plc and Critchley Group plc. He was previously a Non-Executive Director of Alterian plc between 2011 and 2012. He is a Chartered Management Accountant and a Fellow of CIMA.

Lorraine Rienecker

BEng and MBA

Non-Executive, independent, British, aged 53, appointed to the Board on 1 December 2013; member of the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees. She is currently President, Meggitt Customer Services & Support, having previously held the role of Executive Vice President, Strategy, Sales & Marketing at Meggitt plc, with increasing responsibilities including commercial and shared after-market operations from 2005 to 2014. Previously she was Director of Strategy & Planning at BAE Systems and Marconi Electronic Systems (GEC) between 1998 and 2002 and has held several other senior roles at Booz Allen & Hamilton and Bombardier. Lorraine was made a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society in April 2015.

Mark Rollins

BEng and ACA

Non-Executive, independent, British, aged 54, appointed to the Board on 2 October 2013; Senior Independent Director and member of the Audit, Nominations and Remuneration Committees. Mark was Chief Executive of Senior plc until 1 June 2015, being appointed to that position in March 2008. He joined Senior plc in 1998 from Morgan Crucible plc, and became Group Finance Director in 2000. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Tyman plc and Non-Executive Chairman of Sigma Components Ltd. He was formerly a Non-Executive Director of WSP Group from 2006 to 2012. He is a Chartered Accountant and holds a degree in Engineering.

Jon Bolton


Group Company Secretary, British, aged 50, appointed October 2008. Previously Company Secretary of Waste Recycling Group. Prior to this he held company secretarial positions at GlaxoSmithKline, where he trained as a company secretary and Cable & Wireless where he was Deputy Company Secretary. He holds a bachelor of law degree and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators.

Martin Green


Group Business Development Director, British, aged 48, appointed January 2017. Martin has been with the Group since April 2003 in a variety of roles, most recently as Group Development & HR Director. Previously he held corporate development positions at Bunzl plc, at a broadcast equipment rental business and worked in investment banking at N M Rothschild. He trained and qualified as a solicitor with Linklaters & Alliance in the UK, is a Certified Accountant and has an MBA from Cranfield School of Management.